Why I hate Religion, But Love Jesus – A Response

This video went viral this week,

I appreciate this Lutheran response to this viral video…

This video went viral this week and I’ve been asked by the ELCA office for my response (to be posted on their website.)

Here it is: I totally get it.  I hate the way in which the church is more of a behavior modification program and a purity system than a place where we hear the truth of who God is and the truth of who we are because of who God is.

I also resent the way in which the term “Christian” has become synonymous with a conservative social agenda and exclusion of the weak the poor and the outcast (namely the people Jesus chose to hang out with)

I too reject religion that does little more than prop up an identity of sanctification and righteousness based in the successful adoption a particular affect, style, personality and way of speaking.

I too think that Jesus is about grace and being with those on the margins and the unbounded way in which God is always coming TO us.

But…

You can click below to read the whole blog post….

Why I hate Religion, But Love Jesus – A Response.

Categories: Discipleship, Mission, Reflections | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 929 other followers

